Roasted crushed new potatoes


roast new potatoes The new potatoes are all done with their flowering and we’re harvesting a few heads on every trip up to the plot. We’ve worked our way through the Charlottes and are now eating Foremost. I think I marginally prefer Charlotte, so I may grow more of those next year. Foremost are tasty too, but they oddly have these dark muddy spots that need quite a bit of scrubbing to shift. I’ve never had that on potatoes before. I don’t mind a bit of dirt (I must have consumed enough as a child and survived) but I don’t want too much grittiness.

So, after eating lots of new potatoes simply boiled with mint, and a bit of butter added after, or made into potato salad, or sliced and cooked beneath a fillet of fish, one of our all time favourite ways to eat new potatoes is this – par-boiled, gently crushed and then roasted. Normally I would add some chopped rosemary or thyme and sea salt prior to roasting, but then I came across this recipe from the Circus Gardeners Kitchen (whose blog I follow) which adds a garnish of chopped herbs and spring onions after roasting, and thought I’d try it for a change. It’s a fresher, more summery version which we liked very much.

I boiled mine for a tad longer and didn’t roast them for quite as long, hence they’re not quite as brown and crispy, but they were still delicious, served with a piece of fish and a simple side salad of lettuce (from the plot), cucumber and feta cheese.

Servings: 4

Ingredients
20 organic new potatoes
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
½ tsp sea salt
1 tbsp mixed fresh herbs (I used parsley and mint)
4 spring onions, finely chopped
Method
1. Wash or scrub the potatoes and place in a large pan. Cover with cold water and place over a medium heat. Bring to the boil and simmer for a further two to three minutes, or until the potatoes are still firm but just cooked (check with a skewer or sharp, thin knife).
2. Drain the potatoes and rinse under cold water. Set to one side for a few minutes to cool.
3. Pre-heat the oven to 200°C (400°F, gas mark 6).
4. When the potatoes have cooled sufficiently, place them on a flat surface or board. Place the heel of your hand over each potato and press down with gentle but firm pressure until you feel it “give”. When you lift your palm, the potato will have a crushed appearance but will still be just about in one piece, which is exactly what we want. Do this with all of the potatoes then place them in a roasting tin, drizzle with the olive oil and place in the pre-heated oven for 45-50 minutes, turning the potatoes over half way through the cooking time, until they are browned and crispy.
5. Briefly drain the potatoes on kitchen paper. Scattered with the salt and the chopped herbs and spring onions and serve.

potato harvest

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Roasted crushed new potatoes

  1. Allotmental July 6, 2015 at 10:26 pm Reply

    Look so tasty. I must try my spuds separately so I try the different varieties!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. muddybootsandfingernails July 7, 2015 at 8:20 am Reply

    I am salivating! I will definitely give this a try with my Sharpe’s Express. Thanks!

    Like

  3. Zoe July 7, 2015 at 10:33 am Reply

    You’re welcome. I’m also going to try this with some of my fresh garlic, maybe crushed into some oil and drizzled over at the end. I think you could adapt it many ways!

    Like

Leave a Reply

