Courgette, coconut and lime cake


courgette cake 3

I’ve made many courgette cakes and breads over the years of growing them. I am a bit of a cake monster, so if I can use my vegetables to make cake, I’m right there! Some recipes have been more successful than others. I have found some to be a bit dense, and some a bit bland, or both. So on searching and failing to find the perfect courgette cake recipe, I have resorted to making up my own. This is quite typical of me, I have an idea in my head of what I want to do, and then get frustrated when I can’t find the recipe for it! So if this is a disaster, you can come back and tell me, or on the flip side, please feel free to swell my head with pride if you like it. Just remember to credit me!

I already knew I wanted to use limes in this, but it wasn’t enough somehow. Then I came across a recipe somewhere that used courgettes and coconut together and I thought, aha, the perfect trio of Caribbean flavours. Do they grow courgettes in the Caribbean? Anyway, I also happened to have some desiccated coconut in the cupboard that needed using, so that’s all the excuse I needed!

Ingredients:

  • 2 regular sized courgettes, or 1 large (mine came to around 230g)
  • 115g (4oz) caster sugar
  • 115g (4oz) butter, softened
  • 170g (6oz) self raising flour (or use plain with a heaped teaspoon of baking powder)
  • 2 large eggs
  • zest and juice of 1 lime
  • 85g (3oz) desiccated coconut
  • 1 tsp + pinch of salt

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC (350ºF) and grease and line a cake tin (I used a loaf tin, but any smallish cake tin should be fine).
  2. Trim the ends off the courgettes and grate them. Put into a large colander and add the teaspoon of salt and mix. Place a plate beneath the colander and leave to one side for a while. The salt will draw out the excess water from the courgettes.
  3. Cream together the butter and sugar until light.
  4. Add 1 egg and a spoonful of the flour and beat thoroughly. Do the same with the 2nd egg.
  5. Add in the rest of the flour along with a pinch of salt and beat. Don’t worry if the eggs curdle, they often do for me, but they’ll be fine.
  6. Put the grated courgette into the middle of a clean tea towel and squeeze out the excess liquid.
  7. Add them to the cake batter along with the lime zest and juice, and the coconut. Mix all together thoroughly.
  8. Spread evenly into the cake tin and bake for around 40mins, or until a skewer comes out clean.

You could add a cream cheese frosting on top of this if you wish, by mixing cream cheese with icing sugar and maybe a little extra lime zest. I personally like it with a little dollop of crème fraîche.

courgette cake 2 courgette cake 1 courgette cake 4

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Courgette, coconut and lime cake

  1. Gary April 10, 2017 at 12:44 pm Reply

    Fabulous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

