Tartiflette


 

tartiflette4

Until recently I’d never even heard of tartiflette, but I have made it twice now and I know it will become one of our staple meals from now on because it ticks two major boxes – easy – tick, and delicious – big tick. This is what I call a proper comfort dish. Like a big, soft blanket wrapped around you, perfect for when the weather turns nippy. A great way to use up those homegrown potatoes and onions, with a bit of hot chilli pepper if you like. The bacon can be substituted for a little chopped ham or chorizo, or if you’re veggie just leave it out.

Thanks to the BBC Good Food for this recipe and many others that I’ve come to rely on. They really are my favourite recipe site.

A few slight alterations I made were – not to peel the potatoes, skins on works fine for me and stops the potatoes breaking up too much, I added a heaped teaspoon of wholegrain mustard (leave this out if you’d prefer), and I didn’t bother with the addition of breadcrumbs on top at the end. If I’d had some I probably would have added them, so feel free to do so if you wish, but it still tastes great without them. On the matter of cheese, the original recipe uses vignotte, which I’ve never been able to get hold of, I have tried it with cambozola and brie, both of which were lovely. I bought some reblochon specially for using in this dish, but then ended up eating it all before I had chance to make it! I reckon it would taste great with any old cheese, so just use whatever you have.

Scrub clean and thickly slice 2 large potatoes or 4-5 smaller ones, boil in salted water for 5 minutes, then drain and set aside. Meanwhile, slice 1 onion, add a little oil to a hot pan and fry the onion gently until soft. Add some chopped bacon and continue to fry until cooked. Remove the onions and bacon and add a little more oil to the pan. Add the potatoes and fry until they start to brown. Heat a grill to hot. Put the bacon and onions back in the pan, and mix everything together. Don’t worry if anything starts to stick, just keep stirring. Add around 100ml of double cream (or, as I do, use creme fraiche with a splash of milk to loosen it). Add 1 heaped teaspoon of wholegrain mustard, stir together. Nestle some chunks of soft cheese in between the potatoes, sprinkle over some chopped chilli, and then place the pan under the hot grill (protect the handle with foil if necessary) for around 5 minutes or until everything turns a lovely shade of golden brown.

tartiflette3 tartiflette2 tartiflette1

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Tartiflette

  1. muddybootsandfingernails October 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm Reply

    I MUST NOT start making this, or I know I’ll never be able to stop (and it’s really not good for the diet). I ate tartiflette on my only (so far) holiday in the Alps. Double yummy.

    Like

    • Zoe October 16, 2015 at 10:19 pm Reply

      Hi, yeah it’s not exactly diet food. A nice treat once in a while though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

